Ford F-150 Rear Bumpers: Buying Guide by Generation
A new rear bumper on an F-150 changes more than the look of the truck. It sits around the hitch, the trailer plug, the backup sensors and the plate lights, and on some trucks it has to clear a dual exhaust. Fit comes down to your model year, trim and factory options, so those are worth confirming before anything else.
Short answer: Pick by generation first (2009-2014, 2015-2020, 2021-2023 or 2024 and newer), then check three things on your truck: single or dual exhaust, sensors or no sensors, and trim. Many replacement bumpers keep the factory hitch and sensors, but not every listing says so, and several exclude dual exhaust, Tremor, Raptor or appearance-package trucks. If all you want is to cover chrome or rust, an overlay may be enough.
What to check before you buy
Four details decide most F-150 rear bumper orders.
- Exhaust. Look behind the rear wheels and under the bumper. Exhaust tips on both sides usually mean a dual exhaust, and most standard (non-Raptor) 2021 and newer bumpers here are not built to clear one.
- Sensors. Count the round sensors in the factory bumper. Some bumpers work with or without them and include plugs for the empty holes. Others only say they retain factory sensors.
- Trim and packages. Some listings rule out Tremor, Rattler, FX4 or Black Appearance Package trucks, and several rule out the Raptor. Check your window sticker if you are unsure which packages you have.
- Installation. "Bolt-on" does not always mean zero modification. Some bumpers need the factory hitch flashing removed or a little trimming.
Read the fitment notes on the product page before ordering. A steel bumper can also add weight at the very back of the truck, and new mounting positions can change how sensors read, so test them in a safe spot once the bumper is on.
F-150 rear bumpers by generation
The rear bumpers below start with the 2009 model year. Listings marked for the Raptor only are in their own section further down.
12th generation (2009-2014)
The Fishbone Offroad Rear Step Bumper is plate steel with two built-in steps and included D-rings. The Body Armor 4x4 Eco Series uses 1/8 in. steel plate, keeps the factory tow hitch and adds step pockets, but it has no D-ring mounts. From Addictive Desert Designs (ADD), the Venom is a .120 in. wall tube bumper listed as direct fit with no cutting or welding. The HoneyBadger builds a lockable storage box into the bumper, a handy spot for recovery gear. ADD also lists both of its bumpers for the 2010-2014 Raptor, though the Venom title does not name that truck, so confirm on the product page.
13th generation (2015-2020)
The Fishbone Offroad Pelican is powder coated steel with two bed steps and does not fit the Raptor. ADD's Bomber is low-profile plate steel, and it stands out here because ADD lists the dual exhaust as retained. ADD's Stealth Fighter sits close to the truck and adds two clevis mounts, but it does not fit the 2019 Limited. The Body Armor 4x4 Ambush covers 2018-2020 only and excludes the Raptor, so it is not an option for 2015-2017 trucks.
14th generation (2021-2023)
ADD splits its line at the 2024 refresh, so match the bumper to your exact year. For this window it offers the plate steel Black Label, the tube-style PRO Bolt-On, the near-flush Stealth Fighter and the Bomber. The Bomber has the longest exclusion list: no Tremor, Raptor, Raptor R, Rattler, Black Appearance Package or dual exhaust trucks.
2021 and newer across the refresh
DV8 Offroad's bumpers cover both sides of the 2024 change. The Spec Series is listed for 2021-2025. The MTO Series and the Tube Rear Bumper are listed for 2021-2026 single exhaust trucks. All three exclude dual exhaust.
Refreshed 14th generation (2024 and newer)
ADD's current line includes the Black Label, Pro Bolt-On, Stealth Fighter and Bomber. All four rule out dual exhaust. The Bomber also excludes Tremor, Raptor, Raptor R, FX4 and Black Appearance Package trucks, which is a detail FX4 owners should not skip.
Shop rear bumpers →Hitch, sensors and exclusions compared
This table reflects what each listing states. "Not stated" means the listing does not say either way, not that the feature is lost. Ask before ordering if it matters to you.
| Bumper and years | Factory hitch | Sensors | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fishbone Rear Step, 2009-2014 | Not stated; accepts trailer connector | Accepts factory sensors | None listed |
| Body Armor Eco, 2009-2014 | Retained | Supports OE sensors | No D-ring mounts |
| ADD Venom, 2009-2014 | Not stated | Cutouts, plugs included | None listed |
| ADD HoneyBadger, 2009-2014 | Not stated | Cutouts | None listed |
| Fishbone Pelican, 2015-2020 | Not stated; accepts trailer connector | Accepts factory sensors | Not Raptor |
| ADD Bomber, 2015-2020 | Retained | Retained, cutouts | None listed |
| ADD Stealth Fighter, 2015-2020 | Retained, with trailer plug | With or without, plugs included | Not 2019 Limited |
| Body Armor Ambush, 2018-2020 | Not stated | OE sensor compatible | Not Raptor |
| ADD Black Label, 2021-2023 | Retained, with plug | Retained | Remove hitch flashing; dual exhaust not stated |
| ADD PRO Bolt-On, 2021-2023 | Retained, with harness | Retained | Dual exhaust not stated |
| ADD Stealth Fighter, 2021-2023 | Retained, with plug | With or without | No dual exhaust |
| ADD Bomber, 2021-2023 | Not stated | Retained, plus drive assist | Long exclusion list; minimal trimming |
| DV8 Spec Series, 2021-2025 | Retained, with trailer plugs | Retained | No Raptor or dual exhaust; very minor trimming |
| DV8 MTO Series, 2021-2026 | Not stated; keeps trailer harness | Retained | Single exhaust only; minor cutting per DV8 |
| DV8 Tube, 2021-2026 | Retained | 4 and 6 sensor setups | Single exhaust only; not Raptor |
| ADD Black Label, 2024 and newer | Retained, with plug | Retained | No dual exhaust; remove hitch flashing |
| ADD Pro Bolt-On, 2024 and newer | Retained, with harness | Retained | No factory dual exhaust |
| ADD Stealth Fighter, 2024 and newer | Retained, with plug | With or without | No dual exhaust |
| ADD Bomber, 2024-2026 | Not stated | Retained, plus drive assist | Long exclusion list; minimal trimming |
Towing, steps, recovery and lights
Towing. "Hitch retained" means the factory receiver stays in place. None of these listings publish a tow rating or a step load rating, so treat your truck's hitch label and owner's manual as the limit. A bumper swap should not be read as added towing capacity.
Steps. If you climb into the bed often, shortlist the bumpers that list steps: both Fishbone models, the Body Armor Eco Series with its step pockets, and the DV8 MTO Series with a step on each corner.
Recovery points. Options differ by bumper. DV8's Spec Series and MTO Series take 3/4 in. shackles. ADD's Stealth Fighter clevis mounts are made for soft shackles. The Body Armor Ambush has two welded D-ring mounts. The 2021 and newer Bombers keep access to the factory recovery points instead. Listings here do not give recovery ratings, so check with the vendor, and do not use a hitch ball as a recovery point.
Lights. Most of these bumpers have cube or pod mounts, and lights are usually sold separately. The ADD PRO Bolt-On for 2021-2023 can be wired as backup lighting. Rules on rear-facing auxiliary lights vary by state, so check yours before using them on the road. Our LED pod lights guide goes deeper on choosing lights.
Spare tire. ADD calls out spare tire access on both Black Label bumpers. Other listings are silent, so confirm you can still reach the spare after installation.
Overlays and covers instead of a new bumper
If your bumper is structurally fine and you only want to change how it looks, an overlay is a much smaller job. These are thin pieces that attach over the factory bumper. They do not add steps, recovery points or light mounts, and they are not a replacement for a bent or rotted bumper.
- Ecoological BumperShellz for 2009-2014 and 2015-2020 go over the OEM metal bumper. One order covers the driver and passenger sides. The 2009-2014 set comes in versions for trucks with or without reverse sensors.
- Ecoological's 2021-2023 covers offer parking sensor cut-outs and will not fit Tremor or Raptor. There are also 2024-2026 overlays in ABS plastic.
- Tufskinz makes peel-and-stick accents: ridge inserts for 2009-2014 and overlays for the 2022-2026 Lightning.
For more on covering factory chrome, see our chrome delete guide. Painted overlays are custom parts, so dry-fit before final installation, as Ecoological advises.
Raptor only: rear bumpers for the F-150 Raptor
Everything in this section is for the Raptor, not a standard F-150. Raptor bumpers are shaped around that truck's wider body and factory dual exhaust. For the Raptor R, read the fitment closely, because coverage changes by year. The ADD Edge, Race Series and Dovetail titles name only the Raptor while their descriptions add the Raptor R, so confirm on the product page. For the front of the truck, see our Raptor front bumper guide.
| Bumper | Listed fit | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| ADD Phantom | 2017-2020 Raptor | Plate steel box design; keeps sensors, hitch and tow hooks; 10 in. bar mounts behind side panels |
| DV8 Tube | 2017-2020 Raptor | Works with factory hitch; sensor parts included for 2017-2018; minor plate bracket trimming |
| Westin Outlaw | 2017-2020, described for the Raptor | Not compatible with the OEM hitch; the title and description differ, so confirm on the product page |
| ADD Phantom | 2021-2023 Raptor and Raptor R; 2024-2025 Raptor | Hardware included; factory dual exhaust fits below; confirm before ordering for a 2024-2025 Raptor R |
| ADD Pro Bolt-On | 2021-2023 Raptor and Raptor R; 2024-2026 Raptor | Tube design, no cutting; a 2024-2026 Raptor R is not on ADD's list |
| ADD Edge | 2021-2026 Raptor and Raptor R | Cutting required; keeps Drive Assist features, hitch and sensors |
| ADD Race Series | 2021-2026 Raptor and Raptor R | Fully bolt-on; center aluminum step plate |
| ADD Race Series Dovetail | 2021-2026 Raptor and Raptor R | Only for trucks with dovetailed rear fenders; aluminum step plate |
| ADD Rock Fighter | 2021-2026 Raptor | Fully bolt-on; Raptor R is not on ADD's list |
Browse the full Ford F-150 Raptor collection for more parts.
What NVMOS carries
- Fishbone Offroad Rear Step Bumper, 2009-2014: plate steel with two steps
- Body Armor 4x4 Eco Series, 2009-2014: keeps the factory hitch
- ADD HoneyBadger, 2009-2014: lockable storage box
- Fishbone Offroad Pelican, 2015-2020: two bed steps
- ADD Bomber, 2015-2020: retains dual exhaust
- ADD Stealth Fighter, 2015-2020: clevis mounts for soft shackles
- Body Armor 4x4 Ambush, 2018-2020: two welded D-ring mounts
- ADD Black Label, 2021-2023: plate steel with spare tire access
- ADD PRO Bolt-On, 2021-2023: tube style with cube light mounts
- DV8 Offroad Spec Series, 2021-2025: full-width steel with D-ring mounts
- DV8 Offroad MTO Series, 2021-2026: corner steps, single exhaust
- DV8 Offroad Tube Rear Bumper, 2021-2026: prerunner style, single exhaust
- ADD Black Label, 2024 and newer: not for dual exhaust trucks
- ADD Stealth Fighter, 2024 and newer: with or without parking sensors
- Ecoological Rear Bumper Covers, 2021-2023: overlay, not a replacement
Browse by category: rear bumpers, rear bumper accessories, all Ford F-150 parts and shop by vehicle. Check current lead times and vendor warranty policies before you order. Planning the rest of the truck? See our F-150 front bumper guide and F-150 accessories guide.
Shop Ford F-150 parts →Frequently asked questions
Will a rear bumper fit my F-150 with dual exhaust?
Often not on standard 2021 and newer trucks. The DV8 Spec, MTO and Tube bumpers, the 2021 and newer ADD Stealth Fighter and Bomber, and the 2024 and newer ADD Black Label and Pro Bolt-On all exclude dual exhaust. For 2015-2020 trucks, ADD lists the Bomber as retaining the dual exhaust.
Can I keep my factory hitch with a replacement rear bumper?
On many bumpers, yes, but it varies. Several ADD and DV8 listings say the hitch is retained, while others do not mention it. At least one tube bumper in the Raptor section is listed as not compatible with the OEM hitch. If a listing is silent, ask before ordering.
Will my backup sensors still work?
Most bumpers here are built to retain or accept factory sensors, and some include plugs for trucks without them. Match the bumper to your sensor setup, then test the sensors after installation in a safe spot.
Does a steel rear bumper increase towing capacity?
Do not assume so. These listings do not publish tow ratings. Your limit still comes from the truck's hitch label and owner's manual.
Which F-150 rear bumpers have steps?
Among the standard F-150 bumpers here, the Fishbone Offroad Rear Step Bumper and Pelican each have two steps, the Body Armor 4x4 Eco Series has step pockets, and the DV8 MTO Series has a step on each corner.
Are lights included with cube or pod mounts?
Usually not. Several listings say lights are sold separately, and others do not list them as included. Check the product page and budget for lights and wiring.
Will a standard F-150 rear bumper fit a Raptor?
Generally no. Many standard F-150 bumpers exclude the Raptor by name. The ADD Venom and HoneyBadger are exceptions, listed for both the 2009-2014 F-150 and the 2010-2014 Raptor.
Is a bumper cover the same as a replacement bumper?
No. A cover or overlay attaches over the factory bumper to change its look and hide minor damage. Ecoological says its covers should not be used as a replacement for the factory bumper.
Not sure what fits your truck? Call a real person at (920) 249-7744 or send us a message, and we will help you sort it out.






